January 29, 2022



UCSB’s DenBaars to receive AAFM-Nakamura Award

Steven P DenBaars, professor of materials and of electrical and computer engineering at University of California Santa Barbara (UCSB), has been chosen by the American Association for Advances in Functional Materials (AAFM) as one of two recipients of its 2021 AAFM-Nakamura Award. Named after Nobel Prize winner Shuji Nakamura (also a UCSB professor), the award recognizes “an outstanding scientist in the field of functional materials who has made significant contributions and whose work shows significant innovation in the field.” University of California Berkeley professor of chemistry Omar Yaghi was also selected…